Princess Loose Natural Diamonds

Choose The Perfect Loose Princess Diamond

A princess diamond is a stone with a unique shape that you can use in different pieces of beautiful jewelry. The princess cut is square or rectangular with a flat face, and the bottom is pointed. Several factors will help you determine which diamonds to choose whether you are looking for expensive or more affordable loose diamonds.

How do you grade the color of loose princess diamonds?

Diamonds are graded on their color or lack of color. The color scale standard is set by Gemological Institute of America (GIA). The most desirable diamonds have no color. Lesser diamonds will have light or pale coloring. The scale is measured in letters. Diamonds rated with a D are completely clear. This color of diamond is extremely rare, and pricewise, they are the most expensive loose diamonds. The next rarest diamonds are rated E and F, and any color differences cannot be detected without special tools. Common colors of loose princess cut diamonds are:

  • G: May have slight yellow hues
  • H: May show soft yellow tints
  • I: Have a yellow tint
  • J: May have a yellow color
What is a diamonds carat?

A diamonds carat refers to how much the stone weighs. It is not the overall size of the rock. Carats are weighed down to the hundredth decimal point. The lighter stones are .25 carats and .50 carats. Heavier diamonds can weigh 1 carat, 5 carats, or more. Depending on the type of jewelry the loose diamond is going to be mounted, the gem can appear more prominent.

What is the clarity of a diamond?

Clarity describes the flecks, specks, or other imperfections in natural diamonds. Clarity does not describe the color of the gem. FL, or flawless, diamonds are free from any blemishes, and they are rare. Natural diamonds are rated as IF when they are internally flawless. Common clarities are:

  • VVS: This stands for very, very, slight blemishes, and these are the most precious natural diamonds.
  • Very slight or VS clarity stones: These have imperfections, but you will not see them without special tools.
  • Slight included or SI gems: These have flecks that you can see with the naked eye.
  • I2 and I3: These stones will have apparent imperfections.
What is a certified diamond?

Certified diamonds have been qualified by an independent third party. The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) and the American Gem Society (AGS) are two companies that provide certification. The certification does not pertain to the value of the stone, which would be an appraisal. Rather, the certification will verify the:

  • Cut or shape
  • Color rating
  • Clarity grade
  • Carat weight
  • Fluorescence or glow